Student news

New Digital Technologies Curriculum

Picture of Michelle Pinkney
New Digital Technologies Curriculum
by Michelle Pinkney - Sunday, 11 February 2018, 3:56 PM

New Digital Technologies Curriculum
2018 sees the roll out into schools of the new Digital Technologies Curriculum.

All young people from years one to 10 will take part in Digital Technologies learning. Students choosing Digital Technologies pathways for NCEA will develop the more specialised skills that industry partners say are in high demand, through new achievement standards being developed for NCEA Levels 1, 2 and 3.

Students from year one onwards will start to learn how computers work, and how to use them.

For years 11-13, NCEA Level 1 achievement standards in Digital Technologies will be available from 2018, while Levels 2 and 3 will be available from next year.

The new curriculum will cover two key areas: 'computational thinking' and 'designing and developing digital outcomes'. The curriculum also includes 'unique Māori content'.

Computational thinking is about understanding the computer science principles that underlie all digital technologies, and learning how to develop instructions, such as programming, to control these technologies.

Designing and developing digital outcomes is about understanding that digital systems and applications are created for humans by humans, and developing knowledge and skills in using different digital technologies to create digital content across a range of digital media. This part of the curriculum also includes learning about the electronic components and techniques used to design digital devices.

"Digital curriculum changes connect young people to the future."

If you have any questions please email (HOD Digital Technologies)